Wordful Wednesday: More than just paintings

A few weeks ago, I went to the Detroit Institute of Art for a photowalk. I was thinking “taking pictures of pictures? yikes.” But I realized after I was in the museum that it wasn’t just full of two-dimensional art. It’s so much more. And also, while I thought I hated contemporary art, I had the most fun photographing in that area.

I was always fearful of taking my young child to the DIA out of bordem, but I think they could handle it if we visit the right areas. Though I might be afraid of my youngest picking up parts of the contemporary art. There was a lot to see. From statues to armor to the big Detroit Industry mural, the museum has a lot to offer for all ages. I went there several times in school and I felt unimpressed, but I think it was because it was a forced trip and I wasn’t looking at the right things. And certainly, I wasn’t exploring it with my camera. Being behind the lens gave me the opportunity to see things I might otherwise not have cared about: placing, spacing, lighting, technique.

Next time, I’ll give myself more time to visit the sections I didn’t get to see this time and hopefully I’ll learn to appreciate other forms of art as well.
DIA Photowalk-186
DIA Photowalk-189
DIA Photowalk-193
DIA Photowalk-197
DIA Photowalk-201
DIA Photowalk-209
DIA Photowalk-212
DIA Photowalk-221
DIA Photowalk-225
At least she doesn't have a tattoo I guess
DIA Photowalk-256
Excuse me, Mr. Warhol
DIA Photowalk-283
DIA Photowalk-297
DIA Photowalk-308
DIA Photowalk-322

This post was linked up for Wordful Wednesday at Project AliciaSeven Clown Circus and Parenting BY Dummies as well as Mrs. Weber’s Neighborhood.

 

 

This entry was posted in Education, Photos, Wordful Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wordful Wednesday: More than just paintings

  1. aimee says:

    Beautiful art & great pictures!!

  2. Elena says:

    Awesome shots! I probably would’ve had more pictures to show if I hadn’t taken the toddler. 😉 I love the one of that iron gate that ‘s in the Rivera hall. I think I may need to go back and do a photowalk there again!

  3. Mrs. Weber says:

    I tried to comment on this last week and it wouldn’t let me…but it’s all good now 🙂
    I could spend days at the DIA looking at everything. I love the mask and feet shots, but all are beautiful. Great job!

Leave a Reply

